20220120_141621.jpg

Sonia Hassanali 
British Sign Language Communication Support Assistant

Background Information

Mother of three beautiful children, living the dream in Chorleywood.
Used to work for a telecommunications company -Fraud & Loss Prevention department at Carphone Warehouse head office in Acton W3 until 2010, when I had my first child. I was fortunate to be able to choose to use my time in bringing up and spending precious time my children. Now, I’m ready to take on new challenges and focus on my goals which involve BSL translating services.

How did you come to choose to work alongside the Deaf/Deafblind?

 

My god-daughter is Deaf so I'm quite familiar with Deaf Culture and the way of life.

 

Hobbies and Interests

Baking and going for walks.

What relevant qualifications do you possess?

I am working towards my BSL Level 3 - I've set myself a goal of three to four years to get to Interpreting level.

Preferred method(s) of communication

Text/email.

Training

Currently studying BSL Level 3.

What’s your favourite colour?
 

I like all colours, but for some reason, I always go for dark colours when dressing up.

Tell me an interesting story:

When I went with my god-daughter to get her Cochlear Implant, there was no Interpreter there. Follow-up appointment didn't have an Interpreter either, I thought it was a disgrace!

 

My favourite thing is:

Spending time with my family.

I don't like: 

The rain.

What frightens you?

Spiders.

Do you like Marmite?

Yuck!

Do you keep ketchup in the fridge or cupboard?

Always in the cupboard.