20210817_134842.jpg

Susan Wiggins
British Sign Language Communication Support Assistant

Background Information

I was born hearing and had meningitis when I was 14 months old. I was adopted at 6 months old. I had speech therapy whilst growing up in London. My husband is Deaf and I learned Sign Language from when I was the age of 19.

How did you come to choose to work alongside the Deaf/Deafblind?

 

I always wanted to work with Deaf people being Deaf myself and wanted to help other Deaf people in their life.

 

Hobbies and Interests

I used to like darts and ice skating. I like to go shopping and walking my dog.

What relevant qualifications do you possess?

Cliveden Hotel qualifications

Carers qualifications

Food safety 

First Aid Course

 

Preferred method(s) of communication

It depends on who I am communicating with. I can sign as well as speak or both together.

Training

When I was a carer before, I done training in medication, how to use a hoist, dealing with chemicals. I have done other training's in the past.

What’s your favourite colour?
 

I like black, grey, white and brown -  dark colours.

Tell me an interesting story:

I went to a caravan park in the Isle Of Wight as we had our own caravan there. I met other Deaf people there and one evening, we all went to Newport as it was a ghost town and it was really scary.

 

My favourite thing is:

Working with people with learning difficulties, Deaf and disabled people and caring for people.

I don't like: 

Horror films.

What frightens you?

Spiders. ​

Do you like Marmite?

I love it. 

Do you keep ketchup in the fridge or cupboard?

In the summer I keep the ketchup in the fridge, but in the winter I put it in the cupboard.